Album Review: Hollywood’s Bleeding – Post Malone

Review by Kyle Helie

In 2016, Post Malone released Stoney, and nothing was the same. Post offered a grim outlook on stardom, while peppering in enough joy and bravado to make the listener realize Post’s undeniable superstardom in the first place. The balance between loving life, and utter nihilism that Post found with Stoney was one of a kind. Classics like “Cold”, and “I Fall Apart” were born from this project. After a sophomore album that ultimately failed to live up to expectations, the world waited on what Post had up his sleeve. 


Hollywood’s Bleeding would be considered a rap album. Past first glance however, you realize that this is truly a passion project. Like Tarantino crafting his perverse world for the big screen, Post is bringing his thoughts to the canvas. The result is a haunting and beautiful sound proportionate to fit the life of the performer. The album’s message is simple enough. Post is watching a city die in front of him. “I finally made the move out of L.A. and I moved to Utah.” Post said during an interview with Spotify. And I feel like, in L.A. and Hollywood, there’s such a strange vibe to where it just feels like there’s a lot of vampires out there that just want to suck the life from you.” Hollywood is quite literally bleeding in the eyes of Post. Tracks like “Allergic”, and “A Thousand Bad Times” deal with toxic relationships. Post believes people inevitably want what they want. Those people will use you as the means to that end without hesitation. The real instruments bring a breath of fresh air to these already gripping tracks. Acoustic guitar is mixed masterfully in the tear jerking “Circles”, and “Internet” utilizes a full symphony. 

I would be remiss in not mentioning the features. Dababy, Future, Halsey, Meek Mill, Lil Baby, Travis Scott, Ozzy Osbourne, SZA, Swae Lee, and Young Thug all make an appearance across the 17 songs. No that was not a typo. Ozzy Osbourne steals the show in “Take What You Want”. Apart from changing the entire presence of the song from the first word of the hook, Ozzy rips a distinguished guitar solo. “Take What You Want” is the titular track here, but all of the features here are lightning in a bottle. Halsey and Meek Mill rip their verses in half however, and standout in “Die For Me”, and “On The Road” respectively.

What truly separates Post Malone from other artists is Post’s ability to bring spontaneous joy onto the track. “Saint.-Tropez”, and “Wow”. are a celebration of life. Post can talk about his tortured love life, and have a line like,  “Pumpin’ out classics, in the Batmobile going bat sh*t.” in the very next song. Post takes a moment every once and a while to remind himself of how far he’s come. It’s the duality of Hollywood’s Bleeding that makes it a special project.

Track List: 

  1. Hollywood’s Bleeding
  2. St. Tropez
  3. Enemies 
  4. Allergic
  5. A Thousand Bad Times
  6. Circles
  7. Die For Me 
  8. On The Road 
  9. Take What You Want 
  10.  I’m Gonna Be
  11. Staring At The Sun 
  12. Sunflower 
  13. Internet
  14. Goodbyes 
  15. Myself
  16. I Know
  17. Wow.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.